CUSB students' team wins first ever DRR Infothon – 2018 


A team of students of Centre for Environmental Sciences (EVS) of Central University of South Bihar (CUSB) won the Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Infothon – 2018 organised at Hotel Chanakya in Patna on 8th January, 2018. A team comprised of students, namely Akshay Singhal, Amritesh Kumar, Shobna Shankar and Shashank Shekhar and Mukesh Kumar grabbed the top prize in first of its kind Hackathon organised with the tag line ‘Let’s hack for a Safer Bihar’. The event was organised by Disaster Management Department (DMD), Government of Bihar in association with Asian Disaster Preparedness Centre (APDC).

Many teams participated in the event which was attended by DRR professionals, students, academicians, people from NGO’s and independent researchers. Mr. Pratyaya Amrit, Principal Secretary, DMD, government of Bihar was present as the chief guest. The event commenced with formal introductions with the organising committee giving every detail about the event. The event aimed at providing a platform for eminent people to share their informative resources related to the prescribed themes and topics pertaining to Disaster Management. Participants had to upload their resources to SAMBAL (Surakshit Bihar ka Lakshya) platform, an online portal dedicated to disaster risk mitigation. The students of CUSB put in great efforts and successfully uploaded substantial numbers files focusing various aspects of disaster and its management. After four hours of nonstop resource sharing, it was ceased at 3 pm. 

A moderating team was there to verify the content that was being uploaded based on pre-set guidelines. CUSB team was declared the winner for uploading the highest number of knowledge resources in all categories to the online portal. Participants were given the trophy amidst thundering applause. Principal Secretary, Mr. Pratyaya Amrit, congratulated the winners and showered blessings. The organizers and moderators commended the preparation and efforts put by CUSB students. Certificate of appreciation and a T-shirt was also given to participants. 

CUSB winning team dedicated the trophy to the Head of EVS in presence of Professor-In-charge Prof. Arun Kumar Sinha, ,Prof. R. S. Rathore, Dean, SEBES, Head of Psychological Sciences Prof. Tej Bahadur Singh and Dr. Atish Parashar, Head, CMS.    



SH-7, Gaya Panchanpur Road, Village – Karhara, Post. Fatehpur, Gaya – 824236 (Bihar)


Reception: 0631 - 2229 530
Admission: 0631 - 2229 514 / 518
                        - 9472979367


Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

Visitor Hit Counter :